Learn from Remy

If you’re looking for the source of Disney’s magic, I think it’s in the food. Victoria & Albert’s at Disney’s Grand Floridian Hotel is among the top 20 restaurants in the world according to Trip Advisor. But if you can’t get a reservation at this highly rated restaurant, no matter… if you’re eating anywhere at Disney Parks, you’ve made a good choice.

What I wouldn’t give to be able to recreate the poutine from Epcot’s Le Cellier, or whip up some of the Grey Stuff from Be Our Guest in Magic Kingdom on demand…

 

img_2894

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary last year at Be Our Guest. Yes, the grey stuff is as awesome as they say it is.

 

 

Yet there really isn’t an option for me to learn how to do that. I totally understand that Disney can’t show us all of their cards, though. What good is magic when you know there is a trick behind it?

Still, if I could even have 30% of the knowledge of Disney’s top chefs, I think I’d be able to recreate some magic in the kitchen for my family daily.

There are a few options out there. Disney offers advanced gastronomical training through the Disney Culinary Program, but it’s only open to students who are attending culinary school.

I also see that Disney offers workshops during the Epcot Food and Wine Festival, but it isn’t exactly what I’m looking for because of the following reasons:

  • The workshops are very specific. For example, you might learn how to make a Moscow Mule, but not learn how to make cocktails in general.
  • At $50 each, it would be quite an investment just to learn how to make one full course meal from appetizers through dessert.
  • They typically only hold one workshop each day throughout the festival. I can’t get over to Orlando in time during the work week.

No, what I’m looking for is a full-blown immersion weekend where I can walk in barely knowing how to pour a bowl of cereal and walk out with the possibility of being hired to work in a Disney kitchen.

Of course, we all know I’m looking for a job with Disney anyway, but that’s beside the point.

Would you take a cooking class at Disney with me?

One thought on “Learn from Remy

Leave a Reply

