Running the World

Doing a runDisney race is my second favorite type of vacation, right behind taking a Disney Cruise. It just so happens that Disney Cruise Line offers passengers a chance to run a 5k on their private island, Castaway Cay, so there truly is nothing missing aboard DCL. (Although I still have ideas for improvements to be made – just use the “Category” search at left to see everything I’ve written about Disney Cruise Line).

My very first runDisney event was the Disney Wine and Dine Half Marathon in 2013. Since then, I ran the inaugural Star Wars Rebel Challenge in 2015 at Disneyland, the inaugural Star Wars Dark Side Challenge at Disney World in 2016, AND the Infinity Gauntlet Challenge at Disneyland in 2016. Disney does this excellent marketing thing where – if you run a half marathon at both Disneyland and Disney World in the same calendar year – you get a special extra medal for completing what they call the “Coast to Coast” challenge. Depending on which races you do, you can earn variations of the “Coast to Coast” challenge medal, which you can read about here.

darth

My husband, sister-in-law, Darth Vader, and me after the inaugural Dark Side Tie Fighter 10k in Orlando last year.

Last year, Disney introduced a new race at Disneyland Paris and a new challenge: the “Castle to Chateau” challenge. If you completed a half marathon at one of the U.S. parks and then did the Disneyland Paris half, you would earn a special medal. I’ve added completing this challenge to my bucket list.

Let’s face it. If you are someone like me who must have #allthemedals, then it’s easy to get sucked into the runDisney world. Disney knows this. I believe it’s only a matter of time before all of the international Disney properties – Tokyo, Shanghai, and Hong Kong – add their own races. And people will literally go around the world just to say they did them all.

I think there’s going to be a special medal for those who finish a race at every Disney park in the same calendar year. Perhaps I need to start training now to be ready when that year comes.

I’m assuming that what I’m proposing here is already in development, but if not… what are you waiting for, Disney? If you need someone to execute it on your runDisney marketing team, I know someone who is available. (Hint: It’s me.)

Leave a Reply

